Leadership + Staff


Akiba-Schechter has the superb leadership of the following educators. In addition to the professional leadership, Akiba is privileged to have an active volunteer board of directors.

Mrs. Miriam Schiller, Principal

image Miriam Schiller has been the principal at Akiba-Schechter since 1988. Mrs. Schiller has a Bachelors Degree in Elementary Education and Special Education Certification from University of Illinois at Chicago, and a Masters in School Administration from Loyola University. Mrs. Schiller taught at several suburban public schools, teaching 2-year-olds in early-childhood programs to 8th graders, and all ages in between. Mrs. Schiller has worked with students in both mainstream and special education classrooms, and has also taught Sunday school. In addition to her responsibilities as Principal, Mrs. Schiller teaches Reading in the 1st and 2nd grade class.
P: 773.493.8880, ext. 212
E: principal@akibaschechter.org.

Carla Goldberg, Preschool Director

imageCarla Goldberg has been the Akiba-Schechter Preschool Director since 2001, and is only the second Preschool Director in the School’s history. Carla started at Akiba in 1991 as a teacher, and has since taught in the 1st & 2nd grade, Kindergarten, 3 and 4 year-olds, Ready!Set!Go!, and Parent/Tot. Carla’s experience teaching the range of early childhood years as well as in the grade school is evident in the thoughtful care Akiba places on easing children’s transitions from one year to the next. Carla’s first love is teaching, and she continues to teach in the Parent/Tot class.

Carla Goldberg has a BA in Early Childhood Education from the University of Massachusetts, and a Masters in Early Childhood Education for Leadership and Advocacy from National Louis University. Carla has taught Sunday school at Sinai Congregation and was the Early Childhood Educational Coordinator at Congregation Rodfei Zedek. In 2000 Carla was honored with the prestigious Kohl/McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Award. In 2001 Carla was named one of the 10 Chicagoans of the Year by Chicago Jewish News.

P: 773.493.8880, ext. 290
E: preschooldirector@akibaschechter.org.

Rabbi Jeff Holman, Director of Judaic Studies

image Rabbi Holman challenges students to think critically when analyzing a text and to support their ideas with proofs. He fosters a love of learning through pride and accomplishment.

Rabbi Holman is a graduate of Ida Crown Jewish Academy for High School. At Yeshiva University, he earned a B.A. in Computer Science, an M.A. in Jewish Education, and rabbinic ordination. Rabbi Holman worked at Akiba-Schechter from 1994-1996. In the years between he taught at the Bi-Cultural Day School in Stamford, Connecticut.

P: 773.493.8880, ext. 260
E: jholman@akibaschechter.org.

Administrative Staff


A professional staff supports Akiba-Schechter’s leadership in daily operations:

Elisa Aranoff, Administrative Assistant
773-493-8880 x.257 or email: earanoff@akibaschechter.org

Elliot Cohen, Director of Operations
773-493-8880 x.216 or email: ecohen@akibaschechter.org

Annette Gendler, Communications
773-493-8880 or email: agendler@akibaschechter.org

Kelli Harris, Associate Preschool Director
773-493-8880 x.291 or email: kharris@akibaschechter.org

Havah Hope, Administrative Assistant
773-493-8880 x.265 or email: hhope@akibaschechter.org

Miriam Friedman-Parks, Administrative Assistant
773-493-8880 ×200 or email mfparks@akibaschechter.org

Robin Lisak, Controller
773-493-8880 x.215 or email: rlisak@akibaschechter.org

Ronald Lisak, Building Engineer

Dawn Loeb, Development
773-493-8880 or email: dloeb@akibaschechter.org

Millie Miller, School Secretary, a.k.a. School Matriarch
773-493-8880 or email: millie@akibaschechter.org

Mindy Schiller, Director of Marketing
773-493-8880 or email: marketing@akibaschechter.org

Yelena Spector, Director of Admissions
773-493-8880 x.213 or email: admissions@akibaschechter.org

Jefferson Vernon, Building Maintenance & School Superhero!