TK have worked over 20 years.

Honors & Awards

Fall 2011: 1st/2nd grade teacher Scott Salk wins the ATT Educator of the Year Award

Click here to read more from the Hyde Park Herald.

imageSummer 2011

Recent graduate Shoshana Zacharias wins title of Miss Junior Teen Indiana United States 2011. Cheer her on! Read the local edition of the June 30, 2011 Hammond Times’ coverage.

Spring 2011
Mazal tov to this year’s outstanding students who advanced in the following national competitions:

From left: Shira Basa, Polly Hochman, Devora Klionsky, Shmuel Gutman.

Shmuel Gutman (6th) is one of 100 Illinois students competing in the State Geography Bee. This is an especially stunning achievement for a 6th grader!

Polly Hochman (7th) and Shira Basa (8th) will both compete at the state level of the IJAS Science Fair. Good luck!

Mazel tov also to Devora Klionsky, who was one of three finalists in the state level competition of the Scripps National Spelling Bee this year. Not too surprising for someone who made it all the way to the national competition in Washington last year!

Summer 2010: 3rd/4th grade teacher Miriam Kass is the winner of the prestigious Grinspoon-Steinhardt Award for Excellence in Jewish Education. To read more, click here.

Akiba-Schechter students win big in the 2010 Asher Essay Contest, sponsored by the ATT. Read some of their prize-winning work.

Spring 2010: We are proud of our outstanding students who advanced in the following national competitions:
From left: Josephine Gendler, Lena White, Devora Klionsky, Hannah Given, Avriel Faye McCullough

National Spelling Bee:
Devora Klionsky (7th) won in the regionals and went on to Washington, DC for the national competition in May/June 2010. Check out Devora as national speller #59 here.

State Science Fair (Illinois Junior Academy of Science):
Lena White (7th) won in the regionals and earned a silver award for her project “Shocking Shapes” at the state competition in Champaign held in May 2010.
Josephine Gendler (8th) won a special award from the Peaceable Primate Society for her paper on the return of the wolves to Yellowstone National Park.

Chidon HaTanach (Bible Contest):
Hannah Given (7th), Regional Champion (Midwest)
Avriel McCullough (8th)
Devora Klionsky (7th)
All three scored high enough to go to the national competition held in New York in May 2010, and Hannah received the highest score in the entire country. Yasher Koach!

National Geographic Bee:
Josephine Gendler (8th) was one of 100 Illinois students competing for state champion in the National Geographic Bee on April 9, 2010 at the Field Museum.

In 2008, Akiba-Schechter received two Partnership for Excellence in Education (PEJE) awards: Excellence in Technology and Excellence in Events.

In 2007, our new building received the AIA Distinguished Building Award.

In 2006, Principal Miriam Schiller received the Lifetime Education Award from the Associated Talmud Torahs (ATT).

In 2006, our building received the Chicago Architecture Foundation’s Patron of the Year Award.

In 2000, Pre-School Director Carla Goldberg received the Kohl-McCormick Award.